Friday, 9 March 2012

for the love of box sets - World Party

Every year it seems that a luxurious box set gets released full of long lost gems and put together with a real sense of love and devotion. Recent examples have been the Orange Juice's Coals Too Newcastle and Lloyd Cole's cleaning out the Ashtrays and Stephen Duffy's Memory and Desire. They show that with a bit of imagination you can charge a premium price and get good sales form a dedicated fan base. The thing that the good ones have in common is that the artist themselves seem to have played a leading role not only in terms of track listing but also the overall feel and design.

This year the one that has got me all excited is Arkeology by World Party. It has been 12 years since Karl wallinger's last lp of new stuff. The 5 discs features new tracks , cover versions, demos, b sides and general odds and ends. all with a 142 page "any day diary" of articles, notes . photos and memorabilia pulled together by the singer.

The track listing is as follows

Tracklist: World Party, Arkeology

1. “Waiting Such A Long Time”
2. “Nothing Lasts Forever”
3. “Everybody’s Falling In Love”
4. “Where Are You Going When You Go”
5. “Photograph”
6. “Everybody Dance Now”
7. “Closer Still”
8. “I Want To Be Free”
9. “I’m Only Dozing”
10. “No More Crying”
11. Interview/”Sweet Soul Dream” (Live Radio)

1. “Lucille”
2. “The Good Old Human Race”
3. “Put the Message in the Box” (Live)
4. “Trouble Down Here”
5. “Basically”
6. “Silly Song”
7. “Man We Was Lonely”
8. “She’s The One” (Live)
9. “Ship of Fools”
10. “Mystery Girl”
11. “This is Your World Speaking”
12. “All The Love That’s Wasted”
13. “Lost in Infinity”
14. “New Light”

1. “Words”
2. “Dear Prudence”
3. “Call Me Up” (Live Radio)
4. “Like A Rolling Stone”
5. “Sooner Or Later”
6. “Love Street”
7. “Time On My Hands”
8. “Who Are You”
9. “Sweetheart Like You”
10. “Another World”
11. “You’re Beautiful, But Get Out of My Life”
12. “Living Like The Animals”
13. “Stand” (Live)
14. “Thank You World” (Original Jam)

1. “Break Me Again”
2. “Baby” (Demo)
3. “Ship Of Fools”
4. “Put The Message In The Box”
5. “When Did You Leave Heaven”
6. “Nature Girl”
7. “It’s A Pity You Don’t Let Go”
8. “My Pretty One”
9. “De Ho De Hay”
10. “We Are The Ones”
11. “World Groove”/”Mind Guerilla”
12. “Happiness Is A Warm Gun”
13. “Kuwait City”
14. “Do What I Want”
15. “All We Need Is Everything”
16. “Outro”

1. “Mystery Girl” (Early Version)
2. “What Is Love All About” (Outtake)
3. “I Hope it All Works Out For You”
4. “And God Said” (Long version)
5. “It Ain’t Gonna Work”
6. “Another One”
7. “I Am Me”
8. “It’s Gonna Be Alright”
9. “In Another World”
10. “Thank You World”
11. “Cry Baby Cry”
12. “Temple Of Love”
13. “Fixing A Hole”
14. “Way Down Now” (Live)
15. “Change The World”

The set is released in the US on april 10th but no news of a UK release yet , although the suggestion is late May- you can pre order the US version here but i guess this is at a bit of a price premium

In the meantime here is their biggest UK hit


  1. Great band in the early days; raggedy and melodic at a time when most were programming sterile perfection. 'Message in the Box' was excellent.
    I think that Karl was the mastermind behind the euphoric elements of the early Waterboys' 'Whole of the Moon' etc.
    A great 'pop' writer, see the original version of 'She's the One'...

  2. Goodbye Jumbo is one of my favourite lps. His last one Dumbing Up was also great - including a 12 min rant about the state of the world which was a lot better than it sounds

  3. Only 12 minutes; I could better that...


  5. How is it possible to release a 5CD compilation of old gems without including the first b-side and one of the best WP songs ever "Holy water"???

  6. please put "holy water" up on a yousendit link or something like that..u would be my hero of the day.

  7. Hi Anon number 2

    sorry i can't help with that one as i don't have it

    Anon number one - not heard Holy love but it does seem odd to miss off a b side especially if it doesnt appear anywhere else


Leave a comment and let me know what you are listening to.